Public school teachers: Do you play with any parents who have kids in your schools?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by MarTONEbass, Dec 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MarTONEbass

MarTONEbass Supporting Member

I went to a jam session last night with a guitarist and a drummer in the town next to the town I teach in. The guitarist has a kid at my high school. I only found this out after jamming for a while. I am a special ed teacher and have no direct contact with his son and I'm unlikely to have much if any contact with his son.

For reasons of personal privacy, I do not live in the town I work. I don't want to run into parents in the grocery store, etc. I don't have much to hide, but I do like my privacy.

I had a good time and felt we clicked personally and musically but I am having reservations about moving forward. You never know what can happen or what will get back to people at my school.. especially if things eventually go south.

Am I being paranoid or too cautious? How have others handled similar situations? I'd really like to hear from some other public school teachers who have dealt with similar situations. Thank you!
  2. GeezerEntwistle

GeezerEntwistle

Taught for the last decade but no longer do. I wouldn't do it... would never feel safe being myself.
  3. Mike Dimin

Mike Dimin Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Clinician: EA, Zon, Boomerang, TI. Author "The Art of Solo Bass"
    I don't think it is an issue. If he wants to talk about things at school, just mention that there are confidentiality rules that you must adhere to.

I teach in a residential school for at-risk girls. Even though I live 40 miles from the facility, there have been times when a local kid, whose parents I know, was sent there. The first time, something about their daughter is broached in the market, etc., I stress the laws of confidentiality. No more is ever spoken of
  4. MarTONEbass