Punk rock/Ska suggestions?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Scioto, Dec 23, 2013.

1. Scioto

Scioto

Heya. I'm looking for a bass that can do Punk Rock and Ska. I'm about 99% convinced I should look for a P/J setup as that's what most players I see in those genres play "plus it has been recommended to me previously." I'd prefer a four string bass, as well as it being passive as well. I've been looking at the Fender Blacktop P bass "I know it's not a P/J style but oh well" and I really like it, but I don't know enough about it to make a confident claim that it would perform well in a Punk Rock/ Ska band. I don't see why it wouldn't, but I've been surprised before.
    Any suggestions are appreciated. I'm also not looking to spend TOO much more than $600... like $650 is as high as I really want to go.
  2. Nihilism

Nihilism

Buy what you like. I always played punk rock and stuff, and ever since i started playing metal I realized how OUT there the bass is in punk, not to mention ska. I would go with a Stingray just to be sure though.
  3. dukeisdog

dukeisdog Supporting Member

Look into a Spector NS2A. Thank me later.

:bassist: :D
  4. spaz21387

spaz21387

I vote stingray. listen to the vandals that snarly stingray fits in so well...
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. TheMinutemen

TheMinutemen

Ive never seen a bass do punk rock. ;) Its you my friend, not the bass. merry x mas all. Peace.
  7. GtenderG

GtenderG

+1 - Mine is the swiss army knife of basses.....

Punk, rockabilly, Rock and/or roll - the whole 8.23 meters* ...

*9 yards :)
  8. FloridaTim

FloridaTim

I just saw Sublime live. Eric Wilson plays a P.

[​IMG]
  9. FloridaTim

FloridaTim

BTW. to be more specific, a bass made by Christian CELINDER that happens to have P style pickups.
  10. Malak the Mad

Malak the Mad Over the River and through the Looking Glass Supporting Member