1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Putting a curriculum together for my students

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by oniman7, Dec 5, 2012.

1. oniman7

oniman7

I've been teaching for about 5 months now and I've learned a lot about myself and music. However I'm not the best teacher I could be. I believe in an individualistic approach, teaching the student their favorite music and applying littler bits of music theory in relatable, ready to understand ways. I do a lot of this by ear though, and sometimes i feel I miss the mark. I have a week before my next lesson and would like to get some tips on how you build curriculums. My 2 current students are on guitar. One is learning chords and applying them to songs by artists like Taylor Swift and the Beatles while going over introductory music reading. The other is younger and plays a lot of 80's metal that i also happen to love, but I'd currently getting less of the theory aspect.

2. BassyBill

BassyBill The smooth moderator... Supporting Member

In a way, it sounds a little like you're starting at the middle of the process and then trying to "make things fit". That's really common amongst people who know their stuff well enough, but have never been taught how to teach.

The trick is to think about what to teach before you decide how you're going to teach it and keep these two aspects separate to some extent. They can't be totally separated, obviously. But it will help you to be clear about the former before deciding the latter, rather than the reverse process of choosing something for a lesson and then trying to figure out what the student might learn from it.

Formal curriculum planning in general usually follows this sort of process:

- Where are your students currently at with their learning?