Putting an 18" driver in a 15" cabinet???

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by porkdog324, Nov 24, 2012.


  1. porkdog324

    porkdog324 User who is Registered Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Hi All

    I have a homemade shabby 1x18 cabinet with ripped carpet and industrial grille. I have an empty Peavey 15" bass cabinet that I was wanting to put the guts of my ugly cab into.

    Anything I should be aware of? Is it just a matter of cutting a bigger hole and wiring it up? How a bout venting?

    Thanks,
    Brent
  2. StereoPlayer

    StereoPlayer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Location:
    Saginaw, MI
    I've done this 3 times. All sounds good by me, just made the hole bigger for the 18"

    Some of my best sound compliments came from using one of these cabs.

    Not recommended here on TB.

    FLAMES------go!
  3. BassmanPaul

    BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
  4. porkdog324

    porkdog324 User who is Registered Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Thanks, I'll keep it on the down-low if I do it, probably in the middle of the night;)

  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. StereoPlayer

    StereoPlayer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Location:
    Saginaw, MI
    I sorta chuckled reading that.....go Blue!
  7. Bass_Pounder

    Bass_Pounder

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2002
    Location:
    Palm Coast, Florida

    Ummmm.............lots to be aware of

    If you are not aware of what each spec means in a speakers T/S parameters, then you need to do some reading and research first.

    Or

    You could just throw whatever speaker into whatever size box and hope for the best.
  8. BogeyBass

    BogeyBass

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    if its a large 1x15 cabinet

    think peavey 1x15 are on the small side

    if its a sealed 1x15 you could add ports.

    if its ported than a 15" cabinet is going to be tuned around 45 to 55hz

    and a 18" would want to be ported around 30 to 40 hz.

    hopefully you know what driver this 18" is and there is a Datasheet.

    otherwise could shoot for a generic tune of 35hz
    pretty sure an 18 is going to want a ported box.
    this again depends on finding a data sheet to confirm.
  9. T-Bird

    T-Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Location:
    Finland (Northern Europe)
    Hi.

    What Paul said/linked.

    I've done that in the past, but with checking the T/S parameters first.
    Or by porting with rice, a scope and a signal generator.

    Just as the mere size of the driver has no relation to its frequency behaviour, it's size has absolutely nothing to do with its tuning frequency.

    Without doing the math it's a crap-shoot at best, a blown driver and non re-usable cab at worst.
    Not that destroying the cab would matter much, it being a PeePee.
    I'd be more worried about the driver, it can be something very nice (=expensive).

    Those pieces of gear are Yours to tinker with though, so go ahead and try.
    It may work.

    Do post a pic of the driver in any case though.

    Regards
    Sam
  10. anderbass

    anderbass

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix. Az.
    Wow, Id expect someone thats into Epiphonys to realise some Peavey models dont suck... ;)
  11. porkdog324

    porkdog324 User who is Registered Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Thanks for all the replies, I will be removing the driver from the cabinet sometime today, but I think its just a basic Black Widow.

Share This Page