Question about a bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by prbrianpr, Dec 2, 2012.

1. prbrianpr

prbrianpr

Okay this is my question. I have a electric bass, this is my first bass, It is with me almost 1 year, with this bass I started learning so I really never used another bass, only one time, one p bass I think but not was Fender, Nothing special I feel it was almost the same than my bass only have more action and less weight. Mine have more tonal variety.
    I Upgraded my bass with an active EQ only. I dont want to sell the bass, I will have another soon but you know this is my first bass I dont want it to go. Anyway I have 2-3 problems with the tone, it have variety but not that munch for metal, not that Distortion that I hear from bands. I know I cant turn **** in to gold thats why im going with a better bass, still I want that this bass have a better tone.

Pics:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Some bassist friends recommends me Active EMG pickups that is like $100 in internet. That is the best upgrade i can do? I need to say that my amp head is a normal amp not a bass or guitar amp, I change the speakers with subwoofers. Maybe I need a better amp head with all that effects that they have?
  2. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

You need a bass amp, and good speakers. Your bass is fine, leave it alone, focus on a bass amp. With bass, bigger is better, so find the biggest you can afford, and go from there.
  3. DiabolusInMusic

DiabolusInMusic Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism Gold Supporting Member

If you want distortion worthy of a metal band you are going to need some overdrive, I prefer mine out of a pedal that built into a head.
  4. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    Absolutely +1