Question about Boss pedals

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Floyd Eye, Jan 29, 2013.


  1. Floyd Eye

    Floyd Eye

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Location:
    St. Louis
    This is probably a stupid question, but Boss pedals ( The two I have anyway) have two ins and two outs. I am assuming this allows the pedals to run more than one signal chain off them. So if I am hooked up through the mono jacks like a normal set up and I have a Boss pedal at the end of my chain, does this mean I can run another cable from the other out on the last Boss pedal and any effect in that chain will only operate when the Boss is engaged. I guess I'm just confused as to how one would utilize this extra jacks.
  2. Febs

    Febs Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Which pedals do you have?
  3. Floyd Eye

    Floyd Eye

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Location:
    St. Louis
    TU2 and BF3
  4. Febs

    Febs Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    On the TU2, one output is switched, the other is always on.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. RCCollins

    RCCollins

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    The BF-3 sends a stereo signal when you use both outputs, for bi-amping. The TU-2 sends 2 mono signals. I use one to send a clean (post-fuzz) signal to the trigger input of envelope-controlled effects. There are other things you can do with it but it's not a switchable AB box.
  7. 5StringThunder

    5StringThunder

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Are they two designed outputs or is one an out and one is the send/return chain?
  8. Floyd Eye

    Floyd Eye

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Location:
    St. Louis

    Okay, so the BF3 will send the same signal through both outputs? So that I could for instance send my signal to 2 amps? Would the effects in the chain before the BF3 also be sent to both amps?

    If I'm understanding you correctly, having my TU2 last in my chain, I could hook a cable to the "Bypass" jack and start another chain. For example I could place an envelope filter here? Would this eliminate the mute function?
  9. RCCollins

    RCCollins

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    You can send the signal from the BF-3 to two different amps, but it's not the same signal: the flange effect sweeps from channel to channel in a stereo effect.

    You can use either output of the TU-2, but you won't get a switchable signal chain that way.
  10. Floyd Eye

    Floyd Eye

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Location:
    St. Louis

    Gotcha. Thank you.

Share This Page