Question about my new Schecter bass.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by TaylorEdwards, Mar 1, 2014.

1. TaylorEdwards

TaylorEdwards

I was in GuitarCenter yesterday and purchased a used "Schecter Diamond Series 004" and I had a couple small questions about it since I'm new to basses hardware and such.

From what I could tell (And what I've found online so far) it's the 2003 version (Or at least the very newest there was before it was discontinued) Bolt on neck.

On to my questions:

First!

What do each of the four knobs do? The salesmen wasn't able to answer that question at the time.

Second!

From what I found online the pickups are "Active/Passive" with the 9v battery in the back. I literally have no idea what this means. Does one of the knobs change it between active and passive mode or something? Or if I take the battery out will they become passive and won't need the battery?

Any help on these two questions would be vastly appreciated. Thank you!
  2. TaylorEdwards

TaylorEdwards

Any help would be loved...
  3. G00D+~VIBES

G00D+~VIBES

Ok ill just shoot in the dark as I don't know your particular bass.

Knobs: probably volume-pickup balance-bass-treble your ears should tell you what's what.

It's likely passive pickups with an active (battery operated) preamp.

I don't know if it will run w/o a battery but that's an easy test
  4. G00D+~VIBES

G00D+~VIBES

Unless you have a switch or one of your knobs pulls up it probably needs a battery at all times to function.

Unplugging when not in use should make the battery last longer
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. LightGroove

LightGroove

I believe you have Volume Blend Bass Treble. 1sr volume may be push pull. Its a 2 band EQ built around an EMG setup. Pickups are passive..preamp is active
  7. Xandros

Xandros Supporting Member

Have you got a picture that you can post ?
  8. TaylorEdwards

TaylorEdwards