Question About Ohms? please help

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by mayeloski24, Apr 12, 2014.


  1. mayeloski24

    mayeloski24

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    So sometime soon when my church gets bigger, i might get a Hartke LH500, and it runs at @8=350 and @4=500 ( its full power) and i was thinking getting a Carvin BR410-4 cabinet , and it say on the website 4 ohms 800w, but the thing is the hartke LH500 has two 8 ohms out puts on the back, how will i be able to run the head @4 ohms, I'm still new with amps and ohms, i only own a Hartke 100w combo amp which is pretty simple to use. so yeah can someone tell me if this set up would work?
  2. joebar

    joebar Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    if the cab is rated at 4 ohms, then that means you will be running the amp at maximum safe wattage output.
    you wouldn't be able to run two 4 ohm cabs with this head.
  3. bongomania

    bongomania Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Location:
    PDX, OR
    Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
  4. mayeloski24

    mayeloski24

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    ok so everything should be fine , but the thing is that the hartke lh500 head has two 8 ohms out puts, will i have to use a banana speaker cable? (i think is the cable that would work)
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. nashvillebill

    nashvillebill

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Nashville TN
    No, the two jacks on the amp are evidently wired in parallel, allowing someone to plug two 8 ohm cabs in (one in each jack). Or one 4 ohm cab, just using one jack.
  7. mayeloski24

    mayeloski24

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    so i would only use one jack on the carvin cabinet?
  8. brenner182

    brenner182

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Maryland
    Yes
  9. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    Yes. One 4 ohm speaker cab ONLY to either jack. The "minimum load" is 4 ohms which is two 8 ohm cabs (equals 4 ohms) or only one 4 ohm cab.
  10. David Jayne

    David Jayne

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Location:
    Brookfield, CT
    Hartke just marks the outputs that way to remind you that if you connect two cabs they must both be 8 Ohms each, minimum. It's really just one, mono amp output split into two 'outlets.'
  11. basscooker

    basscooker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Location:
    cincy ky
    Disclosures:
    Owner, Chopshopamps.com
  12. walterw

    walterw Supportive Fender Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    i hate when amps are labeled like this, it's damn confusing (boogie does it too). it should be the two jacks with one label over or between them saying "4Ω minimum total".
    basscooker likes this.
  13. basscooker

    basscooker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Location:
    cincy ky
    Disclosures:
    Owner, Chopshopamps.com
    Or when there's an external cab connector on a combo amp and no indication what the minimum is.

Share This Page