Question about the Epiphone Thunderbird

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Lukc, Nov 10, 2012.

1. Lukc

Lukc

So I am a beginning bassist (been playing since February) and I was thinking about what my second bass would be. The Epiphone Thunderbird's sound and awesome design really got to me. So I looked it up on a shopping site and they classified it as a "heavy" bass. Does this mean it's prepared to play heavy metal? I play blues/rock as my main genre and play a little hard rock. So would it be a good bass to buy? And why is it considered a "heavy" bass by Thomman?

2. 1stnamebassist

1stnamebassist

I don't find the thunderbird to be really heavy. About the same as a Fender. They have a bit of a long reach to the first fret, but I find that comfortable, some do not. Check out the new Epi Thunderbird classic 4. Its neck through construction and has Gibson pickups for about 500.00! If you have the cash that might be the way to go. If not, the standard Epi is pretty nice. I played mine at church with no problem. Play what your comfortable with and don't worry too much about what style of music a certain bass is made for. Enjoy!

3. Thomas Kievit

Thomas Kievit Thou shall not F*** up the groove Supporting Member

With being heavy, they talk about a bass' it's weight. It's not top heavy, but the T-birds have a terrible neckdive.. But besides that, very cool basses :)

4. DethByDoom

DethByDoom Supporting Member

The old epi tbirds are bolt on. The new one is neck thru. Get the new one. You'll see them on stage with all genres of bands. Check out the other tbird threads.

They're around 9 pounds so… they're not light but if you're young and like the look and sound… get a wide strap and suck it up. After a while you'll get used to it.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. nubs

nubs

correction! not all old ones are bolt on and not all new ones are neck thru.....

AWESOM avator by the way!!

7. darkstorm

darkstorm