Question: Aguilar obp-3 with push pull pot (volume/passive-active)

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by jcasaspe, Nov 12, 2012.


  1. jcasaspe

    jcasaspe

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Lima,Peru
    Hi guys!

    Im going to buy an aguilar obp3 tk, with bass, mid, trebble, swtich for mid range, etc...

    Im thinking to put a push/pull pot for volume and passive/active option.

    Can you tell me what push pull pot I need?

    500k?
    250k?

    Im very confuse about electronics!

    Thanks a lot!!

    Jose
     
  2. Jaco D

    Jaco D

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    580
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Senyor, here are the wiring options from the Aguilar website. The value of the pots would depend on the pups that you have on your bass.:

    http://www.aguilaramp.com/pdf/support_wiring_obp3.pdf

    I had Seymour Duncan Bassline soapbars on my Warmoth and I think I used 500Ks (can't remember - that was almost seven years ago).

    Hope that helps.
     
  3. Modern Growl

    Modern Growl Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,324
    Location:
    NY/NJ Metro Area
    You can use either 250K or 500K. 500k will be a bit brighter sounding.
     
  4. line6man

    line6man

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    12,588
    Location:
    Close to Los Angeles, CA
    This is a personal preference. There are fans of both values.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. jcasaspe

    jcasaspe

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Lima,Peru
    Hello!

    I have an ibanez sr505(2011) with mk1 bartollinis pickups...

    What do you suggest for me? My volume pot is 25k?

    Thanks you very much!!!
     
  7. Lemon Of Troy

    Lemon Of Troy Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    Palmetto State
    25k if you have active pickups.
     
  8. line6man

    line6man

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    12,588
    Location:
    Close to Los Angeles, CA
    If those are passive pickups, you need to move the volume pot before the preamp and increase the value. 500k would be preferable to prevent excessive loading on the coils, since they had no load from the volume pot to begin with.
     
  9. jcasaspe

    jcasaspe

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Lima,Peru
    Im reading other theards here on TB and I cant say if MK1 are passive or active.
    There are too many opinions!

    Anyone can explain this to me, please?

    Thanks a looot!
     
  10. line6man

    line6man

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    12,588
    Location:
    Close to Los Angeles, CA
    Active pickups are relatively rare. I'm pretty sure those pickups are passive. Have a look at the wiring, to be sure, however. Active pickups will connect to the battery.
     
  11. Lemon Of Troy

    Lemon Of Troy Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    Palmetto State
    yeah MK1's are passive. Most EMG's are active.
     
  12. jcasaspe

    jcasaspe

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Lima,Peru
    Thanks a lot, people!!! All clear, now.
     

Share This Page