Question for DR Fans and Former Fans

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by stepswork4me, Feb 8, 2013.

1. stepswork4me

stepswork4me Supporting Member

I've been using Hi beams for over 20 years and haven't found anything that I like better. The piano like ring out and sustain that they bring is a thing of beauty. I've tried sun beams, low riders, black beauties, blue steels, chromes, boomers, basics, adarrios... Has anyone found anything that beats them for the sound they get?
  2. stepswork4me

So I take it that the hi-beam?s can't be beaten?
  3. Keithwah

Keithwah Supporting Member

I use them too. I do like the Chromes and Blue Steels as well, but....I'd rather go DR Hi-beams. Love that sound! Wish they were a bit easier on the fingers like the Chrome, but no pain no gain.
  4. KJung

KJung Supporting Member

I've never found another string that sounds or feels anything like them. Been using them on my J's for a decade or so. They last a long time, and have a very nice, full range, non 'ganky' tone.

The Lo Rider Steels are cool for those who want a bit more traditional hex core feel (tighter) and tone (less sweet, more grind up top).

GREAT strings, and they last a LONG time for me!
  5. GroovinOnFunk

GroovinOnFunk Supporting Member

Fat Beams if u want some more beef to ur hi-beams!
  6. 4-string

4-string Supporting Member

+1. I got my first set of Fat Beams having no expectations really, but ended up liking them even more than the Hi Beams. This is for my Sadowsky MV4.

Not that there's a night and day difference, I could easily swap between the two and still be happy. For some reason though I come back to the Fat Beams.
  7. drnknmstr

drnknmstr Supporting Member

Ugh, I like the sound of Hi-Beams but they never intonate properly. The D-string in many sets have been flat up the neck and I'd have to adjust the D-string saddle like crazy to get it close to tune. I know some others who've complained of the same thing.