1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Question for the Ibanez lovers, your favorite model, why?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by armybass, Feb 2, 2013.

1. armybass

armybass Gold Supporting Member

I am relatively new to the list of Ibanez fanboys. I have been playing for thirty years but only become a fan in the past two years. I have had very little Ibanez influence over the years mainly due to my snobbery. Well I am cured and I have really grown to a huge fan of the RB800, SR800, SR900 and the RB850. I am not familiar with modern models and they may even have basses with these model numbers now but I am particularly a fan of 80's and 90's versions and specifically the PJ version of the SR00 and the dual HB RB850. I love the look, play-ability and mostly the sound of these basses.

I am interested in learning about other Ibanez models so I would like to hear what models you guys are fans of and why.

2. armybass

Oh yeah...pictures welcome!

3. LPswim2009

LPswim2009

I bought a 2009 SR300L, great bass for the money, unfortunately sometime during the 00s, Ibanez decided to switch to 2 different pickups away from the PJ configuration. The reason why I like mine is because it was the first Lefty that I owned. The pickups on mine are curved vs the SR500 and up, because of this my only major complaint about it is there is absolutely no high end even when I have the high frequency on the amp turned all the way up

4. Got2SadowskyNYC

Got2SadowskyNYC

Disclosures:
    Artist: Sadowsky, Bag End, Visual Sound, Pedaltrain, George L
    Not a "lover" but my second bass is a SR1306PM. I still have it. It's what the SRXXV is based on.

New Ibanez fave. is any one with the Nordstrand pickups, although the Bartolinis are good also.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. sevdog