Question

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Legault, Jan 31, 2013.

1. Legault

Legault

Does anyone know what kind of bass yves carbonne uses and where could I find a chapman stick.

2. Wallace320

Wallace320

Planet Bass – The Yves Carbonne Interview August 2004

Yves Carbonne is a session bass player of the highest caliber. He has been playing electric and upright bass since the age of 13. Since then he has played with all the top players including Michael Manring and gives Master Classes at CIAM in Bordeaux. He also helps develop multi stringed basses with bass maker Christian Noguera, the latest being the 8 string YC 8. Yves plays all over the world so catch him when you can.
    Yves Carbonne's website is at- www.yvescarbonne.com

What inspired you to first pick up a bass and what were your first attempts at playing it like?
    I started playing the piano at seven, but it was not really my instrument. Later, as my older brother was playing the guitar, I began playing the bass to play with him. I was, and I’m still inspired by low sounds.

Who were your early influences and what did you learn from them?
    My early influences were Paul Mc Carney and John Entwistle because my brother was a fan of the Beatles and The Who. But as my parents were listening to other kinds of music, I was living in an eclectic musical background. My interest in jazz started with Chick Corea, John McLaughlin and Weather Report; Stanley Clarke and Jaco Pastorius were my mentors. Then I began to listen to Miles Davis, John Coltrane and Charlie Parker.

Did you take lessons or are you self-taught?
    I was firstly self-taught, then I took a few lessons in Bordeaux with a local teacher. Later Alain Caron gave me some lessons and I’m still a student of Dominique Di Piazza. I think it’s important to have a teacher because I need another point of view on my playing and I need to have students too because I always learn something even if I play with less experienced bassists.