1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Questions about compressor

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by positiveplus, Dec 24, 2013.

1. positiveplus

positiveplus

Hi !
    I'm a guitarist currently trying to grasp bass guitar. I've started learning finger picking, but I've noticed the difference in volume between notes (adding less or more pressure) I play which I can't always control. I'm trying to get the proper technique practicing at home, but I've thought about using a compressor to average the sounds during band rehearsals for the time being. My questions are:
    1. Does a compressor change the tone of the guitar at all ?
    2. Are there any major differences between cheap and more expensive compressors ?
    3. Can I use a bass compressor with a guitar (or vice versa) without the risk of damaging the equipment like with an amp ?
    Thanks for you replies.
  2. bjelkeman

bjelkeman Bass player wannabe Supporting Member

1) Some do and some don't. Often a compressor is used to "fatten" the sound a bit. More expensive compressors like the Cali76 is more transparent, or the EBS Multicomp is milder.
    2) Cheap compressors are often a bit more noisy and will have a less transparent sound, but some people like that.
    3) Some compressors are used equally well with bass or guitar. Like the Empress Compressor pedal, or the Mad Professor Forrest Green. I doubt you would damage anything with these.
  3. Veldar

Veldar

4. eddododo