Questions about series/parallel wiring on a Jazz Bass

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by MetalWarrior, Mar 28, 2012.

1. MetalWarrior

MetalWarrior

Disclosures:
    Sales:Guitar Center
    Hey, guys, I was reading a bit about this subject last night, and I have some questions that I didn't see addressed. I'll be getting my first bass soon...nothing special: a Squier Affinity Jazz Bass V. I like the feel of the neck, and can't afford anything better at the moment. I've played guitar for 11+ years, and have played plenty of other peoples' basses, so I'm not an absolute beginner, by any stretch.

Anyway, it sounds from what I've read, that series wiring on a J should sound similar-ish to a P, but I haven't been able to find any good comparison clips.

I've also been wondering if the order of the pickups will make a difference in the sound. That is, if I wire it so that the neck pickup comes first, will it sound different from having the bridge pickup first, and if so, what kind of differences should I expect?
  2. Spirit of Ox

Spirit of Ox

I've tried a Fender Jazz a few years ago with the S1 switch that put the pickups in series. I didn't like the sound. It sounded nothing like a P bass. The only way to make a J bass sound like a P bass is to solo the front pickup. Also a high output pickup with strong mids will help. Dimarzio Model J or Rio Grande Muy Grande will give you good results since they have a lot of mids and bass. A Seymour Duncan Hot will work but a Quarter Pound is a bit mid scooped so not a good choice. You can pickup a set of Dimarzio Model Js for 100.00 and they even have four conductor wiring so you can try out the series/parallel option.
  3. onosson

onosson

I have to disagree, I have a switch in my Jazz that puts them in series, and it sounds much more like a Precision than the bridge alone does. I'm not sure which direction the wiring goes to be honest, perhaps it does make a difference.
  4. Mystic Michael