Questions about some used basses...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by natesalon, Jan 11, 2014.

1. natesalon

natesalon

2. kcole4001

kcole4001

I'm no Fender expert, but the 4001 is authentic, and in quite good condition for a (formerly) white Rick. The white finish seemed to be more fragile than most colors and is usually chipped.flaked/scraped off in a lot of places.
    I would want to see a pic of the edge of the fingerboard near the nut and the ends of the truss rods to be safe if I were interested in it.
    Here is a site to help you know what to look for: http://joeysbassnotes.com/

The serial number makes it an April 1979 build.

It should sell in the $1500 range, maybe a little higher since it's an uncommon color and in relatively good condition.
    If it goes for less, it's a good deal.

3. natesalon

natesalon

4. mellowinman

mellowinman Guaranteed to break the Ice at Naughty Parties Supporting Member

Media:
    Albums:
    The white Rick and white Fenders are both basses I would take at those prices.

The black Rick I would love to take at that price.

About a day left for each to go up a bit.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. JellinWellen

JellinWellen

Just a reminder, before spending 1500$ on a 30 year old ric. Keep in mind you can get a brand new one with a return policy and factory warranty for just 100$ more. Just putting that out there if you are Ric shopping.

7. LanOsb133

LanOsb133

I don't know enough about ricks to comment on them but here is what you need to know about the fenders.

the 74 Jazz is worth at MOST $1600 and it would only be worth that much if I were a gambling man. I wouldn't pay a dime over that since it has a BAII and doesn't come with the original covers/thumbrest. Also it looks like it went through a flood/been sitting in mold. I have never seen such rusted screws/pickups on a 74, and there are some really weird and off putting things. One of which being the lack of the description.