1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

    We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Rackmount Tuners?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by ZtuxBP14, Mar 8, 2014.


  1. ZtuxBP14

    ZtuxBP14 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Location:
    Mid Michigan
    Greeting fellow bass beaters,

    I recently just got back into playing and invested in a fairly decent rig and also decided to give a try with a rackmount tuner. I just purchased the Peterson Strobo Rack VS-R and hooked it up for 30 minutes...wow, great tuner, but man, this thing has got a lot of functions I'm never going to use. I am going to package this thing back up and get it ready for the ' bay or in the classifieds as it's waaaay too much for me.

    With that being said, the Guitar Center in my region does not stock any rackmount tuners, nor does any other music stores in my area. I'm just looking for some input on what good rack tuners are out on the market that are capable of reading Low B frequency and have less bells and whistles that any of you have messed with.

    Any input is greatly appreciated. Thanks to all who respond.
     
  2. Jon Moody

    Jon Moody Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Disclosures:
    Product Specialist, Marketing/Social Media: GHS Strings
    Rocktron VersaTune. Functionality of the Peterson, super easy display, much lower price point.
     
  3. Nephilymbass

    Nephilymbass Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Location:
    Fayetteville Ft Bragg NC
    I use a korg rack mount tuner. It's got its ups and downs. Good things are its very visable even on stages where I'm up to 30' from it and it's not confusing to use. Bad thing is they suck tone so i never tune silently. Hooked mine to my swr head it's connected to the tuner out, hooked to my sans amp RBI it's connected to the dry 1/4 out. So no tone suck issues but the trade off is no silent tuning that way
     
  4. Boom762

    Boom762 Hartke Whore - I AM the one who Booms! Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. the explode man

    the explode man

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, Alberta
  7. ArtechnikA

    ArtechnikA I endorsed a check once... Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Location:
    SEPA
    Is this the PitchBlack Pro?
    I haven't noticed a tone loss, but maybe I don't know what I'm listening for... How would you characterize the tone change ?

    Are you using an active or passive bass ?

    I have a couple of options for taking it out of the loop and I'm ambivalent on the silent tune function, although it is convenient having a mute...
     
  8. marko57

    marko57

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Location:
    Nashua, NH
    Can you easily and quickly do Drop D with the Korg PitchBlack rackmount tuner?
     
  9. bassmusic17

    bassmusic17

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Location:
    Peotone, IL
    I don't have the pitch black but i have the korg model before it. Very simple. Very easy.
     
  10. ArtechnikA

    ArtechnikA I endorsed a check once... Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Location:
    SEPA
    It's rock-solid on my Low-B.
    D is a walk in the park.
    That said, if I had to easily and quickly tune to Drop D a lot of times, a Hipshot extender is the same $100 as the PitchBlackRack...

    While I'm back in this thread, I'll answer my own question from a couple of months ago on a different subject...
    I've done a lot more A-B testing, and come to the conclusion that he's right.
    So the whole issue of the 'mute' loop being inaccessible from the front of the rack is mute. (That's a pun - I know the word is 'moot'...)
    When I'm home, I'll run a separate cable from the B7K's 'parallel out' to the Tuner In.
    For fancier setups, the Line6 G50 has a Tuner Out.
    If I -need- to tune silently (hasn't happened yet, suppose it could) and I don't want to use the headstock piezo tuner (doesn't track E or B for me...) I'll use the PitchBlack pedal. Good to have options...
     
  11. klejst

    klejst

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    I always found myself fancying the Korg rack mount tuners as well...outside my Boss TU-3 stomp of course : )
     
  12. ArtechnikA

    ArtechnikA I endorsed a check once... Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Location:
    SEPA
    The light show may be excessive if you just tune at the start of the gig. But I find it really, really, helpful when practicing fretless.
     
  13. Bassamatic

    Bassamatic keepin' the beat since the 60's Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Studio City, SoCal, USA
    I have an older Korg DTR-2 for sale if you are interested. Reliable and simple. PM me.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Kmonk

    Kmonk

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Location:
    South Shore, Massachusetts
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Fender, Spector, Ampeg, Curt Mangan Strings
    I have used a Korg DTR-2000 for years, have never had a problem and have not noticed any difference in tone.
     
  15. marko57

    marko57

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Location:
    Nashua, NH
    I have and love my TU-3 as well, only problem is if I use it as a foot pedal, it's not easy to adjust the settings for Drop D, especially during a gig. Typically I use in on top of
    my amp but I still have to break out my eye glasses to adjust the mode settings.
     
  16. JustSomeDude

    JustSomeDude

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Location:
    Nashville, Tennessee
    When I used the Korg rack tuner I always had a separate line fed to it.

    Lately, I use a cheap clip on tuner (Snark).
    It reads harmonics fine for me (4 string).
    Something I like about these is that you have the option of quiet tuning....you barely turn on your volume and tune.

    If there was a way to completely hide the tuner on the back of the headstock, I would love it more

    For more precise tuning/studio use I use the Peterson Strobosoft computer and iphone/iPad versions.
     
  17. walterw

    walterw Supportive Fender Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    "settings for drop D"?

    you just tune till the display says "D", what am i missing here?

    as for returning the peterson, what's the point there? unless there's a big money difference that just isn't affordable, keep it, use it in the default chromatic mode and enjoy its far greater accuracy than any other rack tuner. "bells and whistles" don't matter if you don't ring and blow them.
     
  18. TNID

    TNID

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Location:
    East Tennessee
    I also have a Korg DTR-2 that has been serving faithfully for about 12 years. I've always run it from the "tuner out" on my head, so I can't speak about any tone loss. What I can say is that it picks up the full range of notes with ease, all the way down to low B. I definitely would not call it a high-precision tuner, but it's a pretty solid component for sure. I have not used Peterson's rack tuner, but I have used some of their older strobe machines. Not to take anything away from the Korg, but it will never be in the same league as a Peterson strobe tuner. They just bring a much higher level of precision than the Korg is capable of.

    Sidenote: Tomorrow is new rig day for me, and I will have a Peterson StroboRack in the new setup. Maybe I can do some sort of comparison between it and the DTR-2.
     
  19. marko57

    marko57

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Location:
    Nashua, NH

    Guess I'm just used to the TU-3 where you press the Mode button to drop it down 1. 2. or 3 steps and anticipated there might be similar with the Korg.
     
  20. walterw

    walterw Supportive Fender Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    still lost here; "drop D" to me means the rest of the strings stay, it's just the E that gets tuned down; no reason to change anything on a chromatic tuner for that (or for anything else, if you know the names of the notes you're tuning the strings to).
     
  21. marko57

    marko57

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Location:
    Nashua, NH
    The TU-3 doesn't display the note, it displays the string # so the E appears as the number 4 on the display. When you change the mode setting to go to Drop D, it still displays 4 but let's you know when you're tuned at D. I do see what you're saying and if the note is displayed it's obvious but again, I'm just used to the TU-3 at the moment which doesn't display the note, at least not in the mode setting I use.
     

Share This Page