Radically new concept of bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by stainlesslav, Feb 6, 2013.

1. stainlesslav

stainlesslav

I’m an engineer who decided to become a Bass Designer on the side.

The bass guitar is my passion and hobby. I have a lot of fun channeling my effort into researching and creating my designs. I have the utmost respect and admiration for those who can play the bass (as I can design but I definitely still struggle to play well!)

Just recently I have introduced to the public my new, and rather progressive design of the bass. At the same time I’m conducting ongoing tests with a various players and collecting opinions from those with an open mind who are willing to try it out.

Here is the link (below) to check it out. I would love to hear some feedback and first impressions! Thanks – Stan

2. wvbass

wvbass Supporting Member

Pretty cool. Probably not a big market for a 2" radius fingerboard, though.

3. carl h.

carl h.

That radius looks like it would mess up my left wrist going to the G string. There is a lot of wrist bending going on.

If that could be addressed I'd give it a shot - only if it is a 5 string though.

4. ChloroPhil315

ChloroPhil315

I really dig it. It is refreshing and progressive. It would take away all the arguments over the best woods for basses, and would bring a whole new way of thinking about the bass to the masses should the bass be largely distributed. Not to mention it would look cool in a sci-fi music video!;)

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Clef_de_fa

Clef_de_fa

I never saw an electric bass with lower radius like a DB. a reason for that ?

also the front shape isn't that far from whar we normally see. I like the aluminum construction like the Spalt Bass, a mix of aluminum and wood.

7. StingrayDerek

StingrayDerek Supporting Member

8. MonkeyBass

MonkeyBass

Just curious. What is the reasoning behind a round fingerboard?

9. carl h.

carl h.