1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Radio stations coming thru my amp?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by sleevey55, Feb 3, 2013.

  1. sleevey55

    sleevey55 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1
    Why in the heck am I hearing the local radio stations through my setup? Its very faint but I can hear one of our local FM stations when I turn my amp on and plug my bass in. I know the mushrooms on my pizza tonite were ok sooooo???
  2. Lonesomedave

    Lonesomedave Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    i don't know, but i have experienced the same thing.

    when my son plays either his THD or his acoustic B450 at home, no problem.

    but when he goes to practice with his band, and we use the THD for a pre-amp, the radio station comes thru big time. when he just plays through the acoustic, again, no problem.

    i am not sure why this happens, but i bet if you played at a different location, it would not happen...there just seems to be a radio tower close by the house where he practices and something in the THD's circuitry allows this.

    [​IMG]
  3. wcriley

    wcriley

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disclosures:
    Uncompensated endorsing user: fEARful
    Combination of inadequate shielding somewhere in the signal chain and being too close to a transmitter.
  4. WingKL

    WingKL

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try using a short patch cable, a different instrument cable or even your wireless to see if that helps. If it does, it means your cable is not well shielded.
  5. loopee

    loopee Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    ping.....lightbulb moment
    OK, I've had that happen to me a few times...I was using my Markbass combo and it was placed just a foot or so away from the wall where the plug in for internet and TV was.....when I moved the amp to the other side of the room....no more radio station coming through.....but I never really thought about it until the word "cable" on the last entry......"ping"
  6. synaesthesia

    synaesthesia

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Likes Received:
    0
    +1. When I was a teenager in the 70's we rehearsed in a studio with a Roland Studio bass amp that had a multi-band EQ, and you could 'tune' to different stations by changing the EQ settings.
  7. aasti3000

    aasti3000 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm also a DJ and my DJ set up at home does sometimes pick up a local station thru my amp. It's been like that since I started 20 years ago. Never could explain it. Had like a cb radio sound. haven't had that issue with my bass amp yet.
  8. thedudebrah

    thedudebrah Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    It just happened to my guitar player last Wednesday. He picked up my roommates Pandora feed through his triple rec. We just shrugged it off.
  9. bassboysam

    bassboysam Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2001
    Likes Received:
    9
    Do you hear the radio when the bass is not plugged in? if not, then its not the amp but poor shielding in your bass and/or cable. if you are close to a transmitter there is not much you can do.
  10. dincz

    dincz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Corroded contacts can cause this. The corroded contact point acts like the detector diode in a crystal receiver.

    I remember a trainee in a TV studio who was given the job of cleaning the contacts on some plug-in audio line amps. He used sandpaper on the gold-plated contacts and some months down the track we were getting the local AM station leaking into the audio.
  11. dbase

    dbase Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    I usually wait for a familiar song to come along and play along with it.
  12. chadds

    chadds

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Likes Received:
    0
    If its better than you or your band, why complain?
  13. fdeck

    fdeck Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Likes Received:
    5
    Disclosures:
    HPF Technology: Protecting the Pocket since 2007
    Typical causes are a loose ground connection in your input signal path, possibly including dodgy solder joints at the input jack to the amp.
  14. BAce

    BAce

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you are using a tube pre or an all tube amp, the lack of a grid resistor on the first stage can cause this too. Well not so much cause this but allow this. 68k resistor between the tip of the input jack and the grid of the first triode and yer done.
  15. Astreaux

    Astreaux

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    +1
  16. sleevey55

    sleevey55 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'll try a few of your suggestions and see what happens. Will let ya know!! Thanks!!
  17. Bassmike62

    Bassmike62

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here. Caught the hockey game through my rig a couple of nights ago. Habs won.
  18. DiabolusInMusic

    DiabolusInMusic Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Likes Received:
    8
    It is a capicitor used in major manufacturing. If they manufacture them so they don't get the frequency in your area it will in someone else's area.

    I had a guitar player that used to get radio through his amp, reading on Dunlop's website about their wah's they mentioned how in certain areas they pick up radio due to this reason. I imagine it is the same in your case.
  19. sleevey55

    sleevey55 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1
    It was my instrument cable!!!! Changed it and nothing...........put the old one back on and I heard the radio again. Thanks all!!!!
  20. Mystic Michael

    Mystic Michael Hip No Ties Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Likes Received:
    0
    I once had an amp that was "haunted" by The Rush Limbaugh Show. Naturally I had no choice but to burn that amp. :ninja:

    MM

Share This Page