1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Ready-Made Bridge Cable for Peavey IPR Series (where can I buy one)?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Quadzilla, Dec 24, 2013.

  1. Quadzilla

    Quadzilla Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone,

    From my reading thus far, I see that in order to run it in bridge-mode, I have to have a custom-made cable (two speakons from the outputs of the amp to one for the cab). Is anyone aware of a custom cable maker that makes these up (reasonable price)?
  2. Quadzilla

    Quadzilla Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. Zooberwerx

    Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Likes Received:
    1
    Let me check the manual and get back to you. I have some cable around the joint and can probably make you one. I'll get back to you this late PM.

    Riis
  4. Quadzilla

    Quadzilla Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, that would be very cool of you. :)
  5. Zooberwerx

    Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is this the IPR or IPR II? I understand there have been revisions.

    Riis
  6. Quadzilla

    Quadzilla Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Likes Received:
    0
    IPR (first version)
  7. Passinwind

    Passinwind Charlie Escher Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Likes Received:
    6
    You could do it as a breakout box instead, pretty easy if you use a plastic electrical box. More cables that way though...
  8. flatfender

    flatfender Ad eundum quo nemo ante iit Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. jnewmark

    jnewmark Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, sign me up for one also. Be happy to pay for cable and shipping.
  10. Zooberwerx

    Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Likes Received:
    1
    Last ones I made were 4 conductor biamp with a "Y" for two separate power amps. Hard part is adding strain relief once we've removed the jacket insulation. I hate to see single conductors (red, black) hanging out the business end of a Speakon...no offense to the poster.

    Riis
  11. BurningSkies

    BurningSkies

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Likes Received:
    6
  12. Quadzilla

    Quadzilla Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Likes Received:
    0
    From Bobby B @ Peavey:

    Use channel A+ and channel B- speaker outputs. It'd be best to use speakon plugs, but 1/4" plugs will work too if you can solder. Either way, you need 3. Speakon plugs use screw clamp terminals for wire connections. Most have 4 contacts labeled 1+, 1-, 2+, 2-. Use only 1+/- for your various +/- connections. Each amp side speakon will obviously only have one wire and should be labeled somehow so you don't mix them up. Buy a speakon cable, and buy an extra speakon plug. Modify the purchased cable.

    Connect your input signal to channel A input. Use a patch cable to connect the channel A thru jack to channel B input. Balance the level controls. Rock out.

    -Bobby B.
  13. BurningSkies

    BurningSkies

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Likes Received:
    6

    I've been bridging with these directions for a couple years now with no trouble whatsoever. I took the time to order supplies from RedCo, including colored heat shrink (and black), and use quadcore speaker wire so that the unused leads could still be attached/clamped in to the speakon to make it a bit sturdier and more secure. Each separate 'leg' of the amp-end of the cable used heat shrink so I didn't have exposed wires, then I used the colored shrink to signify Red=Right=Amp 1, Green=Left=Amp 2.
  14. Zooberwerx

    Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Likes Received:
    1
    The first one is done and en route to Quadzilla. Let's see how it works out and I'll start on a second. FWIW, I trialed it on my QSC 1602 in parallel mode and it worked like a champ. I had to go into "caveman" mode and used Gorilla tape for strain relief at the Y. The dual conductors on each limb (one each for A & B channels) pass thru a length of 3/8" Tygon tubing for protection plus the added diameter provides purchase for the Speakon strain relief when tightened down. The red & black hit the +1, -1 terminals respectively at the speaker end.

    Notice I mentioned dual conductors on each limb? The A channel / red / +1 is accompanied by a blue conductor which is attached to nothing. The B channel / black / -1 is accompanied by a white conductor which, again, is available required. The availability will come in hand if a true bi-amp configuration is ever needed.

    Riis
  15. BurningSkies

    BurningSkies

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Likes Received:
    6
    That's similar to what I did. Quad star cable with one core on each branch unused for extra 'beef' what I ended up doing is using thin heat shrink for each branch then more at the juncture and each terminus.
  16. Quadzilla

    Quadzilla Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's sooo awesome Riis! Thank you so very much!!!! :hyper: ;)
  17. delta7fred

    delta7fred

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is how I did mine, I used both conductors wired in parallel.

    You can just about make out the A and B ident sleeves for the IPR end.

    [​IMG]
  18. Zooberwerx

    Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Likes Received:
    1
    This looks neater than mine but I was bound and determined to use up the 4 conductor 13 gauge on hand. Nice job!

    Riis
  19. delta7fred

    delta7fred

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Rils

    Same with me and 2 core orange cable. I have a 100 metre drum of it so every speaker lead I make is orange!
  20. BurningSkies

    BurningSkies

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Likes Received:
    6
    I hadn't thought of doing it like that, but That's a pretty neat solution. It would also be hard to mix up which speakon goes where. I ended up color coding mine red/green for those purposes.

    And Riis, I understand. I used the 14ga canare for mine. Its also what I use for my standard non-bridging cables. I figure once you get up into the multi-kilowatts range it becomes worth it.

    http://www.redco.com/Canare-4S11.html

Share This Page