Real talk: does neo = sonic compromise?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by lossfizzle, Oct 28, 2013.

1. lossfizzle

lossfizzle

Full disclosure: I'm still new to life as a gigging bassist (vs. a home-studio one) and still figuring out the crazy wide world of live gear for bass. I am fully willing to admit that my experience is incredibly limited and I may have no idea what I'm talking about. Actually, that's why I'm posting at all.

Long story short, I have a neo-loaded 2x12 cab which is ostensibly my most professional-grade cab by a long shot. I've been gigging with this thing for a few months, have tried a LOT of different heads / preamps / EQ curves / even digitally-generated amp models going into it, but I can never get the tone as warm / forgiving / thick as I'd like. It's just too hi-fi for me.

My junker cabs loaded with basically just any old ceramic driver(s) from ancient times are basically plug and play by comparison with any of the same rotation of gear up top.

I'd think it was maybe just a "this driver vs. personal taste" thing, except that I keep noting a vocal minority on Parts Express raw-driver reviews that seem to really dislike all neos on arrival. The term "unmusical" is not uncommonly encountered in such reviews, and given my admittedly VERY limited experience with neo-loaded cabs so far, I think I know exactly where they're coming from.

Yet I basically never see complaints on TB about the sound of neos vs. ceramic equivalents. Hard to know if it's a personal-taste thing, if some neo drivers behave "more ceramically" than others, and/or if the weight savings + additional expense is a "validation motivator" for those of us who have made the investment.