Recommend a head/cab for low to moderate volume

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Robus, Dec 31, 2013.

1. Robus

Robus Supporting Member

I'm a long time guitar players who is new to bass. I've been playing for the last few months with an Ampeg BA-108 practice amp and an older 50 watt Crate combo, and more often than not plugged straight into my computer with a BDDI.

I would like to buy something nicer. I am a hobbyist. My uses are playing at home for my own enjoyment, home recording, and occasional jamming with friends at moderate volume. I've neither the time, interest, or skills to play out.

I'd like to buy a head/cab combination that sounds good in a low volume setting. It should keep up with a smaller guitar amp (20-40 watts) and drummer with a small kit and a light touch, all at volumes that won't bring the police to my doorstep.

What would you recommend? To give a ballpark price range, let's say under $1000 for the two. New or used.

Some might say a combo would make more sense, and perhaps it would. I'm willing to listen.
  2. pbasswil

pbasswil Supporting Member

There are just so many choices -- so much good bass gear available these days. With that budget, and your modest requirements, you should be able to be ridiculously happy with what you can get!

Before you get flooded with 50 people telling you 50 different rigs they love, maybe you can narrow things down a bit more:

- What style/era of music to you like to play?
    - Clean sounds/ rougher sounds? Hifi -- clear and full like a PA? or more lowest mids to high mids, like classic rock?
    - Is weight or size a factor?
    - What features do you value? Headphone out? Aux In for playing along with tracks? Built-in overdrive/distortion? Lots of EQ, or simple controls? Classic looks, or is modern ok?

The answers to those questions will narrow things down a bit.

Meanwhile, you could Google up Gallien Krueger, Genz Benz, Aguilar, TC Electronics, Mark Bass, Carvin, Ampeg, Peavey, Eden, etc.