1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a FREE Account to post and unlock tons of features!

Recommend me a $500-$600 dollar amp!

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by ExTek, Mar 20, 2014.

1. ExTek

ExTek

Feb 11, 2014
    Hey everyone. I'm pretty new here, so I apologize if this is the wrong section. I'm going to be getting a new bass and a good amp (that I actually own, since all I've ever done is borrow small combos) soon, and I am not really good at finding a good setup. So I was wanting to see if you guys could give me a good setup!

So, here's what I am looking for:
    Preferably, a head and cabinet setup. I wouldn't mind a combo though.
    2x10 speakers
    Something that sounds tubey.
    Something that is good for both low-volume apartment playing, but also loud enough to cut through in a loud band setting.
    Most importantly, around 500-600 dollars

Thanks for the help guys! :bassist:

2. For a loud band i'd go 410 or bigger. Grab an Ampeg PF-500 ($250 used) and maybe an Ampeg 410HE or SVT-410HLF. It's best to buy used for your budget.

3. Sponsored by:

to hide this ad and more.
  4. Go to carvin.com. Excellent value for the money.

5. Hopkins

Hopkins Supporting Member

Nov 17, 2010
    Houston Tx
    You can probably get a good head and cab for 6 bills if you go used. Check the classifieds and Guitar Centers used section. A GK 700rb II and a GK SBX plus 410 cab can be had together in your budget.

6. ExTek

ExTek

Feb 11, 2014
    I'm checking out all the suggestions now! I'm liking the idea of the 410 cab. I never really check out GK but they look and sound pretty good to me!

7. Chapbass

Chapbass

Dec 11, 2003
    Chicago, IL
  8. ExTek

ExTek

Feb 11, 2014
    That doesn't look too bad. Hopefully it'll be available after the month is over.

9. Jim Carr

Jim Carr Dr. Jim Gold Supporting Member

Jan 21, 2006
    Denton, TX or Kailua, HI
    Disclosures: