Recommendations for a Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by GogglesMcCoy, Dec 12, 2013.

1. GogglesMcCoy

GogglesMcCoy

Hey all.
    I'm new to TB and was just searching for some advice.
    I've been playing a Squier affintity p-bass for a little while now and want to upgrade to something a little more quality.
    My price range is about $500 plus or minus a bit.
    I tend to play punk/rock kind of stuff.
    I read some threads, and am going to go to a store to try out basses before I buy one. I'm just wondering if there are specific basses I should look out for.

Thanks!

2. phangtonpower

phangtonpower

You already own the most punk rock bass :p

I would just try out as many as you can and choose the one the feels and sounds right to you.

3. Andii Syckz

Andii Syckz

You could try a SUB musicman stingray. Those are great. Sterling is good too but wee bit out of your desired price range.

4. wizerd

wizerd

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Andy_D

Andy_D

Ibanez ATK. Super quality for the money. Lots of good usable tones for rock. Solid dependable bass. Only downside is the weight at around 10 lbs +.

7. two fingers

two fingers Loud Mouth Know It All Blowhard

Very cool bass in that price range.

Hey Goggles, Welcome to TalkBass! Any particular reason you are looking to buy a new bass? You could land a TON of bass for that kind of dough if you look used.

8. lundborg

lundborg

+1

Though you need to try them out in a band situation to really
    know. Just because it sounds good in the music store or at home
    does not necessarily mean that it works with a band at high
    volume.

9. GogglesMcCoy

GogglesMcCoy

Thanks a lot for the recs!

I'll definitely look into the SUB and Atk.
    I'm not in a crazy rush or anything so I'll definitely shop around and try them out first.

10. willop

willop

play a lot of instruments - models, brands, etc. and individual instruments as each can have it's own personality.