1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Recommended BG Learning Resources

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Ed_in_NE_Ohio, Nov 25, 2012.

1. Ed_in_NE_Ohio

Ed_in_NE_Ohio

I'm a new member, so I'll apologize in advance if this has been gone over a lot already here. I tried searching the forum but could not find a thread for this (though I am sure there are many).

I am new to the bass, but have played mandolin, tenor guitar, and (some years ago) guitar.

Are there any learning resources (on-line, print, dvd, or other) that are particularly recommended to help me to establish a decent technique and a proper approach to learning the instrument from the start?

Since my primary instruments (tenor guitar & mandolin) are tuned in 5th, and it's been a while since I played guitar, I'm looking for something that will ease the transition back to an instrument tuned in 4th.

Also, since the right hand technique on the bass is so different from what I'm used to, I'd like some good pointers there.

Thanks very much in advance.

2. MalcolmAmos

MalcolmAmos Supporting Member

Every thing you did with your guitar we pretty much do the same. We play the chord tones one note at a time, i.e. we do not strum, arpeggios are our friend. I use the major scale box pattern as my go to pattern. We are responsible for laying down the beat, harmonizing the melody by playing chord tones, calling attention to the chord change and not stepping on toes. Leave the solo breaks to the solo instruments right now, later perhaps, help your self, but, get accompaniment down first.

Bass Guitar for Dummies, www.studybass.com, anything written by Ed Friedland and all of Scott Devine's video lessons will point you in the right direction. Google can find all of them for you.