Recording Music For the Non-Music Related DayJob?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by MatticusMania, Feb 20, 2013.

1. MatticusMania

MatticusMania LANA! HE REMEMBERS ME!

I work for a hardware distributor during the day, and it has nothing to do with my musical abilities and whatnot.
    Recently the company has been putting together "How-To" installation videos for some of our products.
    I was called into a guys office today to check out some music they wanted to use as an intro to their videos.
    The problem was they didnt want to pay for the licensing, which was $100 a year for each video. We have over 60,000 parts, and are making a lot (probably 100+) of videos.
    They know that Im a musician, and were hinting at the possibility of having me record a few tracks. They dont need more than a 10-15 second clip. I doubt they'd be willing to pay me anything, as our company has recently tightened the purse strings. That said, I dont know if I want to put in the effort outside of work or not to get this done.

What would you do?
  2. Unrepresented

Unrepresented Something Borderline Offensive Supporting Member

Media:
    When there is a chance for you to take food out of the mouth of another artist with nothing in return, I say jump on it!
  3. MatticusMania

Lol, well they definitely not going to pay for the licensing, we dont have room in our budget right now.

The options available to the company are pretty much:
    a) Don't include music in the videos, or
    b) Have me do the music

I dont know if theyre prepared to offer me anything in exchange for the work.
    I could possibly squeeze something out of them.

Im certainly not taking food out of anyones mouth.
  4. tangentmusic

tangentmusic A figment of our exaggeration Supporting Member

Matti,
    Do it for the fun and challenge.
    The boss will thank you down the line.
    Maybe he'll give you a few hours OT pay for your efforts.