Recording on PC

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by i_got_a_mohawk, Apr 18, 2005.

1. i_got_a_mohawk

i_got_a_mohawk

I dont have a clue where to start, i would probably just record with the XLR out from my Sansamp BDDI or the DI from my amp, i would need to get the converters tho, would i just plug into the mic in or what, i really dont have a clue where to start or what software i should aquire :help:

2. Basschair

Basschair .............. Supporting Member

Media:
    Okay, where to start...

Here's my caveat: I'm no pro. I've just been doing project recording for myself for a few years, so I might leave something out.

post DI or XLR out, you need some sort of analog to digital conversion, which is a major sticking point for some, as far as quality of sound. There are quite a few external boxes on the market that will do this, and for not too much money...most will connect via USB2 or firewire to your computer.

Your choice would probably be based initially upon what software you'd be using to record. ProTools is great, but a little pricey. I use it, but that's because I needed simultaneous multitrack recording. You may simply want a 1 or 2 track software package...there's lots, as some also double as "mastering" software. Sound Forge is one that's pretty good.

Again, there's so many things to consider, and I'd probably steer you way wrong if I tried to list them. For now, you might just want to focus on compatibality between software and hardware, available plugins (effects) and overall reliability....not to mention cost.

If you check with Sweetwater.com (this isn't a plug for them, by the way), they're pretty good with customer service. Tell them what you have and what you're looking for, and they'll probably steer you towards a software/hardware package such as Digidesign's M'box with ProTools LE, or maybe a Mackie package. That may just be the way to go, instead of mixing and matching soft with hard (ware).