recording software help

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by BassDissonance, Feb 10, 2013.

1. BassDissonance

BassDissonance

Hi everyone

I would like some advice on recording software. I play with my guitarist and we are without a drummer. Right now we're toying around with cubase and using drum samples from monkey beats to create a drum beat behind what we record...ive messed around with it for maybe an hour and i find looping and just editing the sampled beats that i imported into the mix very complicated and time consuming...maybe its because im new to the program and im still trying to figure it out but i was wanting to kno if anybody could give me some advice on some easy to use simple recording software that i could easily record with and import drum patters or even create drum patters with. im looking to just record my bass tracks and or my guitarist guitar tracks and put the drum "idea" behind it to get the feel for what we're looking for and maybe hand them out to future drummers.

thank you very much

2. seamonkey

seamonkey

There are hundreds of options.

Razoon.com Jamstix
    http://www.rayzoon.com/

It has a learning curve, but drum parts created are absolutely realistic.

pgmusic.com, Band in a box, or RealBand, with "Realdrums"
    You can drag a realdrum track to your DAW. Extremely simple and realistic and simple to use.
    http://www.pgmusic.com/realdrums.php

3. SquierJazz72

SquierJazz72

For Windows or Linux, there is Hydrogen, which is a decent drum machine. That is the one I have been using for creating drum tracks. The sounds are pretty good, it has several different drum sets built in, and more are probably available. I like it a lot. You can create different patterns, and then combine them in different ways to form whole songs.

The is also one called Hammerhead Rhythm Station, for Windows. Works okay, but is fairly basic.

I've tried both, but really like Hydrogen better.