1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Related question to the Open Letter thread

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by trackskinz, Jan 6, 2013.

1. trackskinz

trackskinz Supporting Member

Related to the Secret Sales Method: What has been your best way of booking gigs?

I have had some owners ask for DVD's, another asked "How are you guys different?", which I thought was a great question.

I am pretty new to music, but not to sales or business.

2. dickfitts

dickfitts

Honestly, from years of experience as the principal booker for most of the projects I've been in, this is the best method I've found...factor a set time frame/number of dates into your business plan where you play for free. There's a number of ways to approach this-one is to approach the bar owner by saying "we want to show our commitment to making both our respective businesses successful, so as an act of good faith we'd like to offer you (enter acceptable number) of dates, at your discretion, free of charge. We're certainly hoping we can generate business for you, and if it works out we'd love to build this into a paying scenario for both of us. Do you have any dates in particular you'd like to try this with?" Option number two-play house parties for a bit. Honestly, this is a great way to build up a dedicated fan base. MAKE SURE THERE'S BEER THERE if you want to make a DVD that will get you into bars. Do a big cheers with the crowd! Nothing says "MONEY!!!" to a bar owner like a roomful of shiny red cups being raised and then chugged. Either way, show the owner/booker what they want to see...that you're willing to go the extra mile to make their business succeed. That's all anybody can ask of any of their business relations. And best of luck!

3. mellowinman