1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

remembering bass lines?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by dolph lundgren, Feb 22, 2013.

1. dolph lundgren

dolph lundgren

I have a problem. I can not remember my bass bits. I can but... when playing them there is a good chance i might go to a wrong note, a root note (like a whole step off). I correct my mistakes usually pretty quickly but i can't have this happening.

Let me explain my bass experience to better help, hopefully, diagnosing my problem.

I have been playing bass seriously for about 3 years. I play everyday for hours. I play with a guitarists we have 8 sets consisting of 10 songs each. These songs are not strict we jam them out but jam em out pretty good.

I have written bass lines for a complete original album that is currently being mixed and mastered with another band. We just played our first show and i practiced our set (with media player) 2 times maybe 3 times a day for weeks before our show. And i still will second guess myself on songs about what the next change or progression will be. THIS IS ONLY 8 OR 9 SONGS! BUT!!! They do have alot of intricate chord progressions in many of the songs.

I am thinking it has to be my thought process or i just have to keep on practicing, which i will do anyway but i am starting to question if this is going to keep continuing.

So what do you think?

2. BassDoc51

BassDoc51

Relax and don't think too much.

3. tangentmusic

tangentmusic A figment of our exaggeration

You're too anxious about nailing your parts. It's normal.
    We all want to pull off perfection.
    With the amount of tunes you've got circulating in your mind right now(near 90), a bit of mental anguish is bound to occur.
    Like BassDoc51 said: Relax
    Then again there's always Xanax...

4. dedpool1052