1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

removing neck to adjust truss rod

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Oh! Henry, Feb 11, 2009.

1. Oh! Henry

Oh! Henry Supporting Member

I'm not an expert in this kind of thing, but I am able to adjust the relief on most of my basses except my CIJ fender P. In order to get to the truss rod I need to remove the neck. How is this usually done? Do I take off the strings and remove it completely, or just unscrew the screws in back just enough to lift up the neck to have access to the truss rod? Please Help, I'd like to be able to do this myself, but I also don't want to mess up a 20 year old instrument!!!

This makes me apreciate my Musicman!!

Thanks
  2. idoker

idoker Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    MTD Basses, DR Strings
    I also have a fender bass that requires removing the neck to adjust the truss rod. This can be a very difficult process, but once you have it down, it should go smoothly. It's a matter of trial and error, just like everything else with bass set-ups.

IMO, Yes, take the neck completely off by removing all of the strings. If you leave any string tension, there could be a chance that you could damage the neck socket by the extra tension ripping the neck screws out.

After you made your adjustments, re-string the bass to pitch and make your bridge adjustments accordingly. You might have to repeat this several times before achieving you desired set-up.