Renting, Apt vs. Home vs. Trailer

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by lwknives, Feb 24, 2014.

1. lwknives

lwknives

Hey yall, Im gona be getting married and moving out of my grandmothers house in the next 4 months and would like to know yalls thoughts on the pluses and minuses of different types of rental places.

It is much easier to find affordable nice apartments but being a musician I dont want to be aggravating my neighbors with loud music. Is it worth the extra cost to rent a house vs apartment?

I have never lived on my own before so I dont really know what to expect.

Thanks!

2. robd

robd Supporting Member

buy if you can....don't rent. Housing costs and interest rates are still fairly low.

But to answer your question..if you want to play loud music, a single family home is probably a better option

3. lwknives

lwknives

After a wedding, honeymoon, buying my girl a car and only recently graduating college I wont have any money for a down payment. I plan on buying in a year or two. If I get a cheaper apartment I will have to sacrifice being able to play loud music but I will be able to buy sooner.

4. robd

robd Supporting Member

Then do that but realize you are probably going to get less house for the same amount of money a year from now.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Ziltoid

Ziltoid Supporting Member

Loan with a purchase option?

7. IPA

IPA

The best time to buy a house is always a year ago!

8. pedroims

pedroims

Keep in mind that many times you wont be able to play really loud in a house too , either because the neighbors or the wife !! :D... As other mentioned I will buy instead of renting.

9. Phalex

Phalex Semper Gumby Supporting Member

I'm not a fan of the apt.

Everyone I know that has lived in a trailer park has been broken into at least once. I don't think they are all that easy to secure.