1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Repair query: Gearing up for a possible argument (guitar setup content)

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by IPYF, Mar 11, 2014.

1. IPYF

IPYF

Straight up I'll get this out of the way so I don't get any quick/glib responses. I'm not a hand's on guy. I've been playing guitar for 12 years and any time I've tried to fix something on an instrument myself I've botched it. This is why I get other people to look after my instruments, really good professional people (usually).

I have a problem with a guitar service I had done on my electric. I've neglected my Maton MS503 and for the last 2 years its gone unplayed. It's been sitting in the corner, strung up in a low tuning enduring dust and heatwaves while I've been using my other guitars. It's no surprise that over this period the neck became entirely shot.

Last week I took the Maton into my usual shop, who did a magnificent job on my Stratocaster last time so I had no qualms going to see those guys again. I asked them to do a full service to get the old girl shipshape again, and they agreed. Now I've picked it up, I've given it a couple of days playing and I've decided I'm unsatisfied with the job they've done. The neck feels gummy, the guitar simply won't stay in tune and the intonation on the G and B string is obviously out. I'm also suspicious that the pickup heights are wrong because I'm getting a muddy suck-tone with any configuration I try.