Repair shops LIE, or, Why I learned to work on my own gear

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by rojo412, Dec 10, 2012.

1. rojo412

rojo412 MARK IT ZERO! Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Proprietor, ACF Custom
    I don't know what it is, maybe it's my area, maybe it's my luck. Or maybe these people just have it in their character to flat out lie to people...

All I can say for sure is, every time I've brought gear in to be fixed, I get an estimate for time that is 100% wrong, 100% of the time.

Currently, I'm stewing about a bass that I brought in for repair and was quoted a week for a due date. I even told myself "Bank on 2 weeks, they are never right."
    It's 2.5 weeks thus far and not so much as an update. When I talked to the guy last week, he said it was still being worked on, and that's all I could get out of him.

I've never used these guys for a repair before, they are a newer shop, so I figured that maybe they could be different than the rest. I'd heard good things!
    But no, they aren't. It's as if it's in the nature of gear-repair shops to over-promise and under-deliver.
    Every place I've taken basses, amps, etc, will tell me some time, then take drastically longer. And it really ticks me off!

Has anyone else experienced this on the regular? Or is it just me?

Me, I work at a bike shop. We quote for a due date and either hit it or beat it a day early, 99.7% of the time. And if there's a delay, we call the customer and explain why, what it is, what it will take, and when it will be done.
    If we did what these places do, we would be out of business. So I don't understand why they can't do the same. Or at least similar!

Let's say I'm quoted a week and it takes 13 days... I'm LIVID! :mad:
    But if I'm quoted 2 weeks and it's 13 days... I'm ELATED!!! :hyper:
    Same time for the repair, but if they were to under-promise, over-deliver, the mood would be completely different.

Good help... where are you?!?!
  2. LiquidMidnight