Replacement Neck for Mexican Jazz Bass

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Mikey Boom Boom, Jul 28, 2013.

1. Mikey Boom Boom

Mikey Boom Boom

Hello,

I'm having a difficult time pulling the trigger on a new neck for my Fender Jazz Bass MIM. In the sea or aftermarket necks and manufacturers, I cannot be positive that the neck I'm buying will fit the Mexican Jazz Bass. I'm just looking to swap out the stock neck with a new fretless one.

I'm not an expert on the subject and the difference in measurements is pretty slight. I am hoping someone has swapped out necks successfully and can confirm that Warmoth or WD or whoever makes a neck that fits.

Thanks.

Mike

2. walterw

walterw Supportive Fender Gold Supporting Member

standard fender-spec necks will all fit. (they'll also all need to be drilled, maybe leveled, the nut made or shaped, etc., so there's gonna be tech work involved, you don't just take it out of the box then put strings on it.)

from there it's just a matter of quality; get warmoth or USACG if you want an actual improvement.

3. 137h4lone

137h4lone

Fender is now offering necks and bodies. I'd look there first.

4. soflbass

soflbass

Fender link http://www.fender.com/store/necks-bodies/
    Mexi necks run $199.

Warmouth http://www.warmoth.com/Pages/ClassicShowcase.aspx?Bass=1&Body=1&Shape=38&Path=JBass
    Expect to pay between $180 and $250.

Mighty mite necks are lower quality than those above, but you can find them from musicians friend, guitar center, eBay for around $100 to $125. I've purchased a mighty mite replacement and the quality was quite good, though I've heard some bad experiences from others.

All of these are designed to fit fender neck pockets, some may need minor adjustment to fit right.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Double E

Double E I ain't got no time to play... Supporting Member

I have put Warmoth necks on MIM bodies...they fit fine and even the bolt holes line up perfectly.

7. fhm555