Replacement nut for a Bronco

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by ejaggers, Sep 17, 2013.


  1. ejaggers

    ejaggers

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    dallas, tx
    I'm looking for a replacement nut for a Bronco. My P has a custom made nut so I don't think I can count on it for measurements. So can I use a pre-slotted P or J nut, or does it have to be blank and slotted to fit the Bronco?

    057912
  2. JLS

    JLS Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Location:
    Emeryville, Ca
    Disclosures:
    I setup & repair guitars & basses
    Save yourself the aggravation, and have a nut made from a blank.
  3. redzebra6

    redzebra6

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Location:
    Exiled in Texas
    If you are in a bit of a bind, use a Jazz bass nut. It will slightly smaller than the original but will do in a pinch. I had this happen to both my Bronco and Vista Musicmaster.

    My musicmaster is my main, so I had that replaced as soon as possible, while the Bronco is the one I kick around and still have the J bass nut on. My fingers can't tell the difference.
  4. onefallinghope

    onefallinghope

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Location:
    Groton, CT
    This is an opportunity to learn a new skill!!

    Get a couple of blanks and a set of files. Cutting a nut is not very difficult at all.

    Cutting one properly takes a little practice, that's why I suggest getting a few blanks.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. walterw

    walterw Supportive Fender Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    yeah, it's likely not gonna be one of the standard pre-slotted replacement sizes; might be time to get a nice bone one made from scratch.
  7. ejaggers

    ejaggers

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    dallas, tx
    Thanks for your advice JLS, redzebra6, and walterw
  8. onefallinghope

    onefallinghope

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Location:
    Groton, CT
    Gotcha... I'm just some big dumb jerk who didn't offer any valid info. :)

    Dig it.
  9. ejaggers

    ejaggers

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    dallas, tx
    Boy are you sensitive!!! It’s not that your info wasn’t valid; it’s that you didn’t address the question. The Q was, "can I use a pre-slotted P or J nut?", not who should make it.

    Besides, I did have one made from a blank, so everyone, including you should be happy because the Problem is Solved!!!
  10. onefallinghope

    onefallinghope

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Location:
    Groton, CT
    Glad you got it sorted!! :)

Share This Page