1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Researching Basses - Please Help

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by SK Guitars, Nov 22, 2013.

1. SK Guitars

SK Guitars

New member here.

I have a question for bass players.

I'm a luthier...a little ways from actually making a bass but I'm designing tooling these days to accommodate various scale lengths. I need to get the basic design work done on the longest instrument I intend to make in order to complete the tooling for the guitar I'm building now.

If you had to pick the conventional four string bass that you think represents the "middle" of the bass world...the most comfortable instrument to play...what would that be?

Thanks in advance for weighing in...your response is very helpful.

Stu

2. Gorn Captain

Gorn Captain Supporting Member

You might wanna repost with a poll. You're gonna get a whole lot of answers.

3. smcd

smcd Supporting Member

The entire "middle" of the bass guitar market is overwhelmed by Fender Precision and Jazz basses. Of those 2, the Jazz would probably be the choice. Problem is, by cloning a Fender Jazz, you'd be entering into the most crowded market segment.

4. Webtroll

Webtroll Rolling for initiative Supporting Member

Huge +1

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. SK Guitars

SK Guitars

I'm not seeking to clone any particular guitar...rather...I'm trying to get the scale, neck shape, dimensions, ect. together for a common bass...so that what I make as a first effort feels normal for players.

I have a Fender Jazz Bass for recording but I'm a guitarist primarily and haven't owned many basses in my life. The idea here is for me NOT to make what I want but to make what the rest of the world wants. :)

Thanks for your replies.