retrieving my first bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by newyorkiddo, Mar 24, 2014.

1. newyorkiddo

newyorkiddo I'm actually a cat. Supporting Member

In the whole year that I've been playing bass, I've owned six basses. I currently have four. I sold one to get another, and I got one taken away from me. I don't mean it got stolen of course! The reason why I started playing was because my roommate randomly asked if I wanted to learn so I could play in his band. At that time I was a broke 17 year old with little prior knowledge of stringed instruments and music itself. My first bass was my roommate's friend's bass - a Squier Classic Vibe Precision Tele-style bass. Although it was pretty beat up and had the electronics buzzing like crazy, it was a very great bass to me! I adored the tone and feel to it, even though I didn't know how to set it up myself or even had it set up by a professional. I just grabbed it and started playing as-is. Well, the original owner randomly asked for it last year, so I gave it back. So, my question for today is, I'm going to try to convince this guy to sell it to me. The pickup cover is ripping off, the pots are broken, and the frets are pretty uneven. What would you guys offer if you were in my position and wanted that bass? I think they sell for 300 something new, so it shouldn't be too expensive. And with what I know now, I will be able to fix it.

2. newyorkiddo

newyorkiddo I'm actually a cat. Supporting Member

Let's try it again, without the boring story....
    what would you pay for a beat up Squier Classic Vibe Precision '50s Bass?

3. Apolicious

Apolicious

Pics would help, but this sounds pretty rough. I'm not sure what you mean by the pickup cover "ripping off." And which pots are broken? Do they do anything at all? But the fretwork is the scariest bit here.