Reusing Traynor ps 600 power amp

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by graver555, Nov 6, 2012.

1. graver555

graver555

Hello there everybody. This is my first time posting on an online forum so be nice.

I have an old Traynor PS 600 stereo power amplifier I picked up in a yard sale for 5 or 10 bucks. It has sides with stereo outputs on each side. One side works the other does not. No case no manual came with it just the amp and power amp.
    In my noobishness I first didnt even realize the power supply was part of it so after tinkering for an hour without it i went back and found it five feet from where the amp was.

Well my question is what should I do with it? Would it be worth getting repaired and selling? Or my other idea was to use the power supply and other usefull parts and make a bass amp out of it.

If neither of these ideas sound good then in a month or so I run an inflatable rock climbing wall for 2 days inside a middle school gym and I am in charge of music. Now it has a big old blower fan like a bouncy house so its loud in there and power has been a problem. Ive used a small fender practice amp before turned all the way up and a laptop but last year I almost cooked the speaker from the smell and sound. How easy would it be to hook this amp up to some old stand alone speakers (I think thats the term) and my peavey or acoustic bass amp?

If this wouldnt work any other ideas for loud pa music? I was thinking of pulling the amp from the peavey for awhile to use. Got it for ten bucks at yard sale becuase of slight flood damage.

2. BassmanPaul

BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

You can get the schematic you need from Yorkville. They tend to be more than helpful.

3. graver555

graver555

Once I get the schematic do you think I should try repairing it, or repurpose it?

4. B-string

B-string Supporting Member

Both! Double duty as a bass amp and power amp for your music needs.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member