1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Reverse wound pickups-why do I need them?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Mike Sorr, Feb 25, 2014.

1. Mike Sorr

Mike Sorr Hack with nice gear. Supporting Member

I have a Carvin B50 bass with their H50A pickups in it. If I keep the bass I'm considering switching to Carvin's more aggressive J99A pickups as I'm playing a different style of music these days than I was when I first got the bass. When it comes to gear, I'm a driver not a mechanic, so I have no idea about electronics, wiring or what goes better with what (apologies for my technical ignorance, I've been a Jazz and P Bass player for 30 years). So when it was recently suggested that I get the reverse wound version of these pickups I had questions. Their J99AR-2 are hotter than the H50A, but supposedly the reverse magnet will still keep them quieter than the standard J99A. The price for both versions of the J99A is the same.

So, a few questions: Do I want the reverse wound pickups or are the standard pickups fine and why? On a Jazz style bass I usually run both volumes full on...wouldn't that cancel out noise anyway? Also, the bass is currently completely passive. Do I want to add a preamp? Why?

http://www.carvinguitars.com/group/bass_pickups

2. MostlyBass

MostlyBass Supporting Member

I believe you want one of each. A regular wound with the reverse wound is what does the canceling.

3. Chainsaw Willie

Chainsaw Willie

Only ONE pickup of a pair should be reverse wound with reverse polarity magnets. Thats what makes it cancel hum when used both pickups on.

Two pickups with the same wind/polarity will not cancel hum.

4. wideload

wideload

I'm in the same boat as you, man. Don't reverse wound pickups suck notes out of your strings? :)