1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Rewiring Speaker Cab in Parallel?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Redbowties88, Jan 29, 2014.

  1. Redbowties88

    Redbowties88

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, I've got a 2x15 Crate cab (bx-215e) That is rated @300w.

    I'm powering it with my xr600b which is rated at 210w with a 4ohm load and 300w with a 2ohm load.

    I was thinking I could maybe get some more volume out of the cab if I was to open it up and re-wire it with the speakers in parallel to get it down to 2ohm.

    Sound like a horrible idea?
  2. Zooberwerx

    Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes...don't muck with it. An addt'l 90 watts will not provide any discernible increase in volume.

    Riis
  3. -Kramer-

    -Kramer-

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also, you probably have two 8 ohm speakers in that cab. If you wired those in parallel, you would get a 8 ohm cab.

    The best option for more sound is more speakers.
  4. john m

    john m Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd try it. I love head room. For my style of playing, I've never had too many watts--- I have run out of headroom.

    Also, If one speaker voice coil burns open, the other will still work.

    Put a big 2ohm label on back of cabinet.
  5. Redbowties88

    Redbowties88

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Likes Received:
    0
    would it in turn effect the 300rms rating?

    I guess in other words, is 300w@2ohm more stressful on components then 300w@4ohm?
  6. Rune Bivrin

    Rune Bivrin Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Likes Received:
    1
    :rollno:
    If it's an 8 ohm cab it's either two 16 ohm drivers in parallel or two 4 ohm drivers in series.

    The second case would yield a two ohm cab if rewired as parallel. Wouldn't be a good idea, but possible.
  7. Redbowties88

    Redbowties88

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cab is factory rated at 4ohm.
  8. mbelue

    mbelue Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Likes Received:
    20
    Big fail here.
    2-8 ohm speakers in parallel =4 ohms.
    2-8 ohm speakers in series =16 ohms.

    4 ohm cabinets cannot ever become 2 ohm cabinets without new speakers.
    Likewise 8 ohm cabinets cannot ever become 4 ohm cabinets without new speakers.
  9. Jazz Ad

    Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Likes Received:
    9
    It is a 4 ohm cabs and the speakers are most likely already wired parallel.
  10. Redbowties88

    Redbowties88

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I guess that answers that question.

    Thanks guys.
  11. RickenBoogie

    RickenBoogie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    OP, if it could be done, it would not increase volume. But, it can't be done, so that's that. Some things to know, - to get twice as loud as a 300 watt amp, you'd need 3000 watts PLUS enough speakers to handle the extra power. Adding more spkrs is always better than adding more power, regardless of how you achieve it. And, your Crate 2x15 is most likely getting as loud as it can with the power you have now. Adding more power would probably only hurt the spkrs.
  12. Zooberwerx

    Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Likes Received:
    2
    Finally...thank you! Here's the skinny: this Crate rig is a nice, neat, modestly-powered package...it is what it is. If you really need more volume, I'd seriously look at upgrading to a better amp & cab(s) before spending dime one on this rig.

    Riis
  13. Redbowties88

    Redbowties88

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's plenty loud enough for band practice but we haven't played out with it yet.

    I'm sure it'll be fine for the small size places we would be playing. I just figured it would be a fun and free way to possibly upgrade it a little.
  14. Zooberwerx

    Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah, you'll probably do just fine provided the guitars and drums don't step all over your sonic space. Please post a follow-up!

    Riis
  15. Ken R

    Ken R Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another matching cab would be the way to go if you need more volume.
    These things WILL make quite a bit of volume, I don't think you will need more volume unless you play outdoors. For a bar gig, it should be plenty.

    Ken R


Share This Page