Ric experts-Which one did I used to own?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Whit Townsend, Dec 20, 2013.

1. Whit Townsend

Whit Townsend

Ric experts, I need you help.
    I stupidly sold it and have missed it ever since.
    I would like to replace it but I want to make sure I get the same neck profile. I remember it as slim and fast. I bought it used around 1998. It had very little wear so I'm assuming it was maybe early 90s, but it coulda been older, poss 80s, and just in real good shape.
    It was fireglow w sharkfin inlays and had the horseshoe pickup. No stereo output, so can I assume it was a 4001?
    If I was to order a new 4001, would it be the same, esp the neck profile?
    Also where would be a good place to look for another used one online?

2. mellowinman

mellowinman Guaranteed to break the Ice at Naughty Parties Supporting Member

Media:
    Albums:
    4001 always had Rick-O-Sound, as far as I know. (I'm no expert)

3. Whit Townsend

Whit Townsend

Sorry not knowledgeable what is Ric-O-Sound?

4. BenWhoPlaysBass

BenWhoPlaysBass

Ric-O-Sound is the two output jacks on the bass that give you the option to run both pickups mono or run them stereo into seperate inputs.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Jeff Scott

Jeff Scott Don't just TalkBASS - PlayBASS! Supporting Member

Was there binding on the front of the body? If not, then it could have been a 4001S or 4003S.

Did it have a shedua/walnut strip of wood down the middle of the neck that went all the way through the body, too? If so, it was a 4001S, if not, it was a 4003S.

7. smcd

smcd Supporting Member

Rick-O-Sound is the stereo output, which, as mellowinman said, all 4001's and 4003's have. Horseshoe pickup and no stereo output sounds like an older model 4000, but that bass had dot inlays, so that doesn't make sense.

Are you sure you're recalling things correctly? Are you sure about the horseshoe pickup?

8. Whit Townsend

Whit Townsend