rickbacker pickups

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Nameless bass, Dec 24, 2013.

1. Nameless bass

Nameless bass

Hi i am new to this page but i have been reading it for years so here is my question

Since Rickenbacker basses has one of my favorite tones i was thinking i dont know.. if its legal... but since ricks are so expensive could you just buy rick pickups put them on either a rick copy or some other bass would it gain a ricky sound? or is it just pure rick magic that make the awsome?

2. JellinWellen

JellinWellen

If you put the OFFICIAL RICKENBACKER HI GAIN PICKUPS on a bass in VERY SIMILAR PICKUP POSITIONS TO A RICK BASS, then yes it will sound very much like a rick. Some people will argue that a big part of the tone comes from a Ric being neck thru and all maple with whatever fretboard they use, but thats 99% just myth/untrue.

Only actual Rickenbacker pickups will sound like it though, the seymour duncan or whatever other brands replacment pickups will 9/10 times not sound like a 4003.

3. mmbongo

mmbongo Chicken Pot Pie. My three favorite things!! Supporting Member

Don't forget the 33 1/4" scale length, you'll need that.

4. Jaco Taco

Jaco Taco

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. FaithNoMan

FaithNoMan

I disagree. Much of the brightness of a Ric is due to the thin rock maple body. I owned an Epiphone Ripper with a thin maple body as well, and it was bright like my Ric.

I can imagine that Ric pups will give some of its' character, though.

Dark Seymours. Still sounds like a Ric to me.

7. xaxxat

xaxxat Supporting Member

Dave Meros did it with Jazz pups in the Rickenbacker positions.

[​IMG]

8. Nameless bass

Nameless bass

real ric pickups on a fake ric (mine is a neck thru) would come pretty close to a ric then? is it hard to change pickups?