Rickenbacker 4003 Bridge Pickup Low Output?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by d00dr, Jun 25, 2011.

1. d00dr

d00dr Supporting Member

Hey guys. Just another newbie with a silly question here. So, I recently purchased a 2008 Rickenbacker 4003 and I've been having a difficult time with the output of my bridge pickup. When I adjust the height to where its at the same level (volume-wise) as the neck pickup, the signal is way too hot and clips every time I pluck a string. But when I adjust it to a level where it doesn't clip, its almost not even audible when singled out. I'm not sure if I just need to keep adjusting it until I reach that point just before it clips, or if maybe the pickup is shot and needs to he replaced, or maybe there are some bad solder joints. The signal never cuts out though, ever. I'm new to Ricks and passive basses in general I guess. I've been playing my Warwick Thumb Bass for 10 years now so its a bit of a change for me going from active to passive electronics... any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

2. Augment

Augment

I'd suggest taking it to a decent tech if you have one & can spare the cash and time away from it.

The bridge pickups are generally a little hotter than the neck ones I believe. When I got my 2010 4003, I actually lowered the bridge pup a bit since at equal height it was a tad too hot.

3. aquateen

aquateen

get the bridge pickup so it's not distorting and then adjust the height of the neck pickup.

4. teleharmonium

teleharmonium

When you say it's clipping, exactly at what point in the signal chain is the clipping happening ? It can't be happening in the pickup itself and it's highly unlikely the pickup has a problem.

If you're using pedals, you may need to make a change to your gain structure, but that sounds weird if you were using active basses before which generally have higher output. Have you changed volume settings on anything between the bass and the amp since switching to this bass ?