1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a FREE Account to post and unlock tons of features!

Rickenbacker 4003 Bridge Pickup Low Output?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by d00dr, Jun 25, 2011.

1. d00dr

d00dr

Jun 25, 2011
    Jamestown, NY
    Hey guys. Just another newbie with a silly question here. So, I recently purchased a 2008 Rickenbacker 4003 and I've been having a difficult time with the output of my bridge pickup. When I adjust the height to where its at the same level (volume-wise) as the neck pickup, the signal is way too hot and clips every time I pluck a string. But when I adjust it to a level where it doesn't clip, its almost not even audible when singled out. I'm not sure if I just need to keep adjusting it until I reach that point just before it clips, or if maybe the pickup is shot and needs to he replaced, or maybe there are some bad solder joints. The signal never cuts out though, ever. I'm new to Ricks and passive basses in general I guess. I've been playing my Warwick Thumb Bass for 10 years now so its a bit of a change for me going from active to passive electronics... any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

2. Augment

Augment

Apr 19, 2011
    Chicago
    I'd suggest taking it to a decent tech if you have one & can spare the cash and time away from it.

The bridge pickups are generally a little hotter than the neck ones I believe. When I got my 2010 4003, I actually lowered the bridge pup a bit since at equal height it was a tad too hot.

3. TalkBass Friendly Advertisement

4. aquateen

aquateen

Apr 14, 2005
    maryland
    get the bridge pickup so it's not distorting and then adjust the height of the neck pickup.

kcole4001 likes this.
  5. teleharmonium

teleharmonium

Dec 2, 2003