Rickenbacker 4003 Help!

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by bassgod0dmw, Dec 10, 2012.

1. bassgod0dmw

bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

Does anybody have an easy to read wiring diagram of a Ric 4003 with the vintage/modern switch?

When I solo the bridge pickup, it sounds very weak and thin. In comparison, the neck pickup is very full sounding. The vintage/modern switch makes no difference to the tone at all, like it's not even functioning.

I'm wondering if someone modded it back to original specs, or if there is something wrong.

I found the Ric schematic on their site, but I'm not very good at reading them and all of the diagrams at Joey's have been taken down.

2. SGD Lutherie

SGD Lutherie Banned

Disclosures:
    Owner, SGD Music Products
    It sounds like it's wired up without the vintage modern switch. On my '73 4001 basses the bridge pickup was unusable on its own.

Here's the schematic for the 4003, but it doesn't show the vintage modern switch. The switch just connects a shunt across the cap.

http://www.rickenbacker.com/pdfs/19507.pdf

3. bassgod0dmw

I can't read that, but I did find a picture diagram. It matches my wiring just fine, so I think it's wired correctly. However, there seems to be a few issues going on here.

-The vintage/modern switch does nothing at all
    -The treble tone knob seems to just turn down the volume, although it's hard to tell since the pickup volume is so low overall

I tried raising the pickup and it does make it louder, but not nearly what I would expect it to be like. The adjustable poles are raised as well. I don't know if there is a cold solder joint somewhere, or if something else came loose during shipping. All of the solder joints look pretty decent to me. I can break out my iron if need be and make sure they're good, but I don't want to go down the wrong path and waste my time for nothing.

I've got a meter and kinda know how to use it, but I have no clue where to start.

4. bassgod0dmw