1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Rock Technique

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Whit Townsend, Dec 6, 2012.

1. Whit Townsend

Whit Townsend

Dont really know where to put this, so mods feel free to move it if needed.
    I've started playing upright in a band that does everything from punk to Americana.
    I'm comfortable with country, some blues, and have played bluegrass for yrs. I'm totally self taught, 55 yrs old, been a guitarist since high school. I started playing upright in a bluegrass context 20 yrs ago. My slap technique is good enough that Im happy with it.

Whats giving me fits are rock songs with bass lines composed with slab. Two main issues, 1st being really fast 8th notes, typical in rock and punk, having a hard time keeping up speed, nice even timing, and getting right hand fatigue really fast.
    2nd issue is a left hand one. A lot of rock songs have signature bass lines typically played on electric up the neck in closed positions. I try yo move them to 1st pos sometimes, using open str when I can, but its not always possible or they don't sound as good. I have a strong left hand, but I give out playing in closed position for a whole song, esp at faster tempos or more notey lines.