Rocksmith - Good Learning Tool??

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Capn Bloodeye, Apr 11, 2014.

1. Capn Bloodeye

Capn Bloodeye

What's up everybody. I'm new to the bass. As a lifelong guitar 'wannabe' I never gave bass much attention until I was playing 'Beatles Rock Band' with my daughter. I was playing the bass version and was immediately impressed with Paul McCartney's bass lines. Since then I pay attention to every bass line I hear.
    Now I have a bass and Rock Smith - Just curious on anybody's thoughts about the game and if it is a good way to learn?

2. SanDiegoHarry

SanDiegoHarry Supporting Member

Sure. If it gets your hands on the instrument, yes. But it is no teacher and no sub for actual practice.

derylgallant and nataku333 like this.
  3. Batmensch

Batmensch

It's a good way to learn how to play guitar and bass parts of certain songs, and it gains you some co-ordination, flexibility, speed and strength, but it doesn't teach theory. I do believe it is good and fun addition to an overall course of learning. I wouldn't rely on it solely if you want to seriously learn music. Fun introduction to playing for absolute beginners.

4. MalcolmAmos

MalcolmAmos Supporting Member

The other guys covered it well. It's a start.

Here is something you can sink your teeth into.

I found Online Bass Lessons at StudyBass.com and Ed's book "Building Walking Bass Lines" to be on track and both have great value. There is one more bass line book I would recommend, "Bass lines in minutes" by Kris Berg. "Bass Guitar for Dummies" is a good starter book, as it has a little bit of everything you will be using. Your public library will probably have a copy. Dummies will help you with how to make sound, fingers, pick or whatever. It'll also help with how to mute some of he unwanted sound.

My old standby chart of generic bass lines using the "major scale box" as a Rosetta stone may help: