1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Rust on pickup poles?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bammons30, Dec 14, 2013.

1. bammons30

bammons30

I'm fairly new to bass and I've recently noticed some rust specs forming on my pickup poles. Will this harm the bass an any way? And how could I remove the rust and protect it from further rust? Any help is greatly appreciated.
  2. GK Growl

GK Growl

No harm to my knowledge. You can use a pencil eraser to remove most of it from time to time. I did that with my Squier P/Js and it worked great. Whatever you do, no steel wool!!!
  3. Nephilymbass

Nephilymbass Supporting Member

It definitely hurts resale value if you ever want to sell the bass.
    My warwick FNAs Musicman style pickups polls rusted lost a bit of resale value and got the only partially negative eBay review I've ever gottenaq . I personally prefer pickups without exposed polls now and rust is one of the many reasons.
  4. Nephilymbass

Nephilymbass Supporting Member

Yeah don forget a pickup is a magnet. I wouldn't try to remove rust with anything made out of any kind of metal.
  5. seang15

seang15 Supporting Member

That's where the funky mojo comes in!! :) keep the rust!!
  6. Kmonk

Kmonk

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Fender and Spector, Ampeg, Curt Mangan Strings
    You could try lightly rubbing them with very fine emery cloth.
  7. C.Linton

C.Linton Supporting Member