Sadowky/Lull/Lakeland/Stambaugh - Sooooo Many Choices for a Noob!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BigEarl, Feb 25, 2013.

1. BigEarl

BigEarl

I'm eleven years old again, it's a month til' Christmas and the Sears catalog just came in the mail - at least that how I feel because I am going to treat myself to a boutique in 2013.

I've done my research and picked the most asthetically pleasing (to me) high-end basses out there. But, I have never played a boutique before ...yeah I know Bass Emporium used to be here, and they had lots on the floor to try, but I felt unworthy of a high end bass at the time and now we have to use the phase "used to be here" when speaking of BE (but I digress) so I have no first hand knowledge of the luxury that a custom made boutique can offer.

So, brothers and sisters of the bass community, can anyone rave about one of the above maker's and give me some insight into the hoity-toidy world of the boo-tee-kyooo?
  2. wvbass

wvbass Supporting Member

I'd learn to spell Lakland before I bought one...

I have a US Lakland. Great bass. But...don't buy any bass expecting more that just a bass. The difference between a $500 and a $3000 bass isn't as much as you'd think/hope. In fact, I gig them interchangeably.
  3. George Mann

George Mann

Don't forget Birdsong and Landing.
  4. SherwoodGreen

SherwoodGreen

Don't worry about spelling, and don't think that you have to be "worthy" of a boutique/high-end bass.
    If there were such a requirement, I can assure you a number of posters here would have to turn in their $$$ instruments!:D

Look at the "Club" threads here for insight and pics etc. of the different builders.
    Look at their websites, check out the designs, specs, etc. and find one that catches your eyes and ears.
    You need to play and spend quality time with an instrument to find out if it fits you.

All of the builders you mention- and many others- achieved status because their work earned them a following.