1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Sansamp pedal? What is it? Do I need it?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by ping23, Feb 8, 2013.

1. ping23

ping23

I am a new bass player. I was a drummer for years but have picked up the bass about 6months ago. I just got a 300w GK head to two 4x10 cabs. Usually just run the one cab. My buddy who plays bass has been telling me since I got my bass to get a sansamp pedal. It's a tech21 pedal.

http://www.tech21nyc.com/products/sansamp/bassdriverdi.html

That's the pedal there. What does it do? What do I need it for? What is the DI?
  2. eriky4003

eriky4003

Ping23,
    You may want to let us know which GK head you have. It may already have a direct input (xlr out which goes to the soundboard/snake for front-of-house sound). Other people on this forum will probably advise on the Sansamp.
  3. AdamR

AdamR Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: VF Cables
    Its a DI/EQ/Dirt pedal. Its not a bad idea to have one if you play out. It can save you if your amp dies. It also great for recording and Im willing to bet a good 75% of rock albums the bass is recorded through a Bass Driver.
  4. jgroh

jgroh Supporting Member

You dont NEED one. Its one of those things that some people really like and others dont. I have a sansamp RPM preamp and did have the VT bass pedal but didnt like it and sold it. I wouldnt worry about getting anything else, just play.
  5. ping23

ping23

The head is a GK Backline 600.